free hdr using gimp

Forums Forums Get Technical HDR free hdr using gimp

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Participant

If you install gimp(http://www.gimp.org/) there is a script that you can download for dynamic range enhancement. You just save the script in /gimp-2.2/scripts (assuming youre using gimp 2.2). To use it you just need an underexposed and overexposed shot opened in different layers in one picture and right click on the image, go down to script-fu – photokit – dynamic range extender and itll open up a window where youll get to play with the settings and itll combine the 2 images.(I dont know any settings or anything to recomend during this because I just started playing with it about 10 minutes ago) Here’s a link that has the dynamic range extender script
    http://registry.gimp.org/plugin?id=4436
    If this link dies(I had that happen when asking about using scipts in gimp earlier this week and only now have refound the script) you can get to all of the gimp scripts by opening gimp clicking on help – the gimp online – plug-in registry which will open up in your web browser and then clicking image in the plug-ins browse section and then scrolling down and clicking on dynamic range extender and saving in /gimp-2.2/scripts.

Anonymous
    Participant

That post was by me(linguine in case it doesnt post as me again). Does anyone else have trouble with the message board forgetting that youve logged in once youve logged in?

Elsinore
    Keymaster

Oh bless you, linguine!! I use GIMP almost exclusively (though recently tried out Bibble for RAW to compare to GIMP’s UFRAW plugin), and I’ve been struggling with how to do HDR stuff.