I’m running out of time, would like some advice.

Forums Forums Get Technical Tips & Tricks I’m running out of time, would like some advice.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    ravnostic
    Participant

This is a project I’m working on for a G+ venue, theme “Industrial”.

Obviously photoshop is employed. I’m totally unhappy with the shadows; I know they need work (it was my first try; I need to employ some skew).

I’m not thrilled with the layering, either. I am a newb with PS Elements, the whole point of doing this is to improve my skills (self challenge; I didn’t have to go this route). But I think I need some advice on where to go with this.

http://fossilspringsaz.com/pics/2013/jun/12/indyblendprojectsepia.jpg

ravnostic
    Participant
    fluffybunny
    Participant

This is a project I’m working on for a G+ venue, theme “Industrial”.

Obviously photoshop is employed. I’m totally unhappy with the shadows; I know they need work (it was my first try; I need to employ some skew).

I’m not thrilled with the layering, either. I am a newb with PS Elements, the whole point of doing this is to improve my skills (self challenge; I didn’t have to go this route). But I think I need some advice on where to go with this.

http://fossilspringsaz.com/pics/2013/jun/12/indyblendprojectsepia.jpg

IIRC PS tools have a “drop shadow” function somewhere that let’s you assign a “direction” and maybe other physics parameters before laying it down. I’m unsure if you used this or did it manually so apologies if I am being redundant. Looks like you have (or had) everything in layers which will allow you to pick the same angle for all elements. Just tweak it until it matches the shadows in your background (in this case the clockworks). Stretching and warping after “drop shadow” are good if your light source is oblique and distant (think evening sunlight).

My aesthetic opinions (disregard if offensive, not intended that way):

Awesome concept.