Easy B&W Development with Diafine

Forums Forums Get Technical Tips & Tricks Easy B&W Development with Diafine

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    sleeping
    Participant

I figured this might be appropriate for this week’s theme….

I’ve been using diafine to develop black and white film for a couple of months now. It’s really easy because it doesn’t require accurate timing or temperature. It also makes most film faster – about 2/3 to 1 stop for most film (TriX 400 gets quite a lot faster – you can rate it at 1600)

I’ve been developing with really minimal eqipment and scanning the negatives. All I use is
    – a changing bag
    – scissors, and for 35mm a bottle opener to open the canister.
    – a daylight developing tank and reels
    – the 2 Diafine developer solutions made up in containers (use about 1/3 of each as a working solution and reserve the rest to top up periodically)
    – fixer made up in a container
    – tap water
    – wetting agent
    – clothespins and a place to hang the film to dry

The hardest part by far is getting the film onto the reels for the developing tank in the changing bag (35mm is really pretty easy once you’ve got the cannister open, 120 and 127 is harder to load onto a reel)

The process I use, once the film is on the reels in the tank:

– Pour in solution A and agitate gently for a couple of secs. Leave it in for 3 mins or so, agitating again for a couple seconds every minute.
    – Pour solution A back into the container, and repeat the process with B (important not to get any B into your container of A solution – that will ruin it).
    – Fill the tank with tap water, agitate, and empty. repeat.
    – Add fixer, agitate every minute or so for 5 minutes. Drain (you can reuse the old fixer for 10 rolls or so)
    – Open tank, and leave under running water for 10 mins or so
    – turn off the water, add a couple of drops of wetting agent, agitate gently, and remove the film.