FAQ: Legal Stuff for Farktography Book

Forums Forums Projects and Collaborations Projects FAQ: Legal Stuff for Farktography Book

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Kestrana
    Participant

This is a break down of the legal form to understand what it’s saying for everyone. I am not a lawyer so I am regurgitating what I have learned from the NAPP.

This paragraph has been revised from the original.

I, _________________, the undersigned, being the legal copyright holder to the listed photographs does grant to Carole J. Montague, Drew Curtis and fark.com, their heirs, successors in interest, legal representatives, and agents, the full rights and license to use such photographs in conjunction with the planned publication of ?The Best of Farktography?. I understand I retain the original copyright and may license my work to others.

You, the photographer hold the copyright to your pictures.
    You are granting me (and Drew/fark but mostly me) and anyone necessary for the publication of the book (the publisher/advertising) the right to use the photo and the right to copyright the photo. It is my understanding that “and copyright same” is necessary because we are copyrighting the book and thus the photo on your behalf.
    You are only granting us rights to use the photo for this publication.

I hereby waive any right that I may have to inspect or approve the finished product or products, or the advertising copy or printed matter that may be used in connection therewith, or the use to which it may be applied. The undersigned also consents to the use of any printed matter in conjunction therewith. I also understand that my photo may be resized to fit the needs of the publisher.

You are waiving the right to inspect the final product or any collateral material before publication.
    You are extending us a license to use your picture for promotional material connected to this publication.