General Questions

Forums Forums Farktography General Chat The Gallery General Questions

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    bender16v
    Participant

I’m pretty new to photography since I just got a camera this summer. I’m kicking myself for not starting a LONG time ago because I have traveled to some pretty neat places for my job as an industrial equipment sales/technician guy. My mother was an excellent photographer back in the 70s and early 80s then she quit for some reason. She gave her old Minoltas to my brother years ago and my only friend that is into photography only does wet plates these days. Since I got my camera (Nikon D3100) I’ve been enthralled with photography and read about it daily. The only thing that I do more of than shoot photos is fish, and luckily those compliment each other. I have some questions and would like some general critique so that I can improve.

One of my first questions is how do you get razor sharp images? A lot of my wildlife photos have “halos” and I think that this may be because I am generally shooting from my boat, which is fairly stable but not completely. I have just learned to use Shutter priority mode instead of Aperture, and that has helped but not eliminated the problem. Is the just the Sigma 70-300mm lens or something upon which I can improve? I can’t find any examples at the moment, but I’ll post some when I find them. It does seem to be more apparent with white. Should I be using a CP or ND filter in daylight?

That may go hand-in-hand with my next question. Sometimes white get completely blown out. Like in the attached photo of a white bird on a pier attached below. I have not adjusted any colors or anything in the photo.

I have a bunch more questions, but I’ll wait to ask until I organize them a little more. I have attached a few more photos from this evening that I’d also appreciate some tips/comments on. Thanks!