Hi2u!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Analogy
    Participant

I’m fairly new to still photography, but I’ve been shooting video as my job for years so I figured I’d see what it was like on the other side of the fence. Kind of go back to fundamentals. I got a 30D in December and I’m slooowly working to build my lens kit, starting with a very old 35-80mm zoom my friend gave me for free and a 100-400 L zoom he was getting rid of. Next on the list: 10-22mm zoom. I loooove the wide angle look.

Anyway, I had a picture lying around that worked for the V-Day theme and Elsinore came back and told me to join this forum, so I did. =D

You can check out my picasa gallery here: http://picasaweb.google.com/stephan.ahonen/

I’ve mostly shot local rock bands that my band was playing with, but you can see my “art” shots in the album appropriately labelled “Art”. Funny how that works. In the “DEMO Acoustic Show” album I let my bass player use my camera a bit and he got a photo of my playing a snare drum. So that’s what I look like. =D

Saldo1981
    Participant

Nice photos. I haven’t tried to shoot any bands yet, come to think of it I don’t know if I could bring my camera into any of the venues around here. I added you to my favorites as I use the screen saver and set to pull photos from my favorites because it’s always fun to see random photos.

Analogy
    Participant

Generally, if you don’t actually see a sign saying no photographs or video, you’re all good. To be safe I generally try to ask the band’s permission and offer them copies of the photos and I haven’t had anyone turn me down. A few bands have even used my photos for their Myspace pages and web sites.

Saldo1981
    Participant

I’ll have to check the venues and if it’s allowed I will have to get in the mindset of photography not how many jack on the rocks I can drink before I can’t walk. I just don’t want to risk the camera like that.

Analogy
    Participant