Lens Suggestions?

Forums Forums Get Technical Hardware Lens Suggestions?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Blitherakt
    Participant

Hey, all! I’m a newbie to photography with a dSLR and to Farktography as well.

I recently picked up a Nikon D40 with the 18-55mm kit lens, and added the 55-200mm VR lens. The two lenses don’t seem to be enough for me, though, as I find myself in spots where I’d like to get some really good DoF shots that I either don’t have enough experience to achieve, or don’t have an appropriate lens for. At some point, I’ll grab a Lensbaby because it looks really fun, but it’s probably a bit out my depth at this point.

I’m wondering if I could get some suggestions and some explanations about lenses? I hear a lot about “prime” lenses; what is a prime lens and what are the benefits and drawbacks to adding one to my kit? Should I be looking at going to a much higher (200mm+) lens?

Thanks for the advice!

Elsinore
    Keymaster

First of all, welcome to Farktography 🙂 You have a lot of good questions, so forgive me if this is long!

Let’s start with prime lenses. Prime lenses are lenses that don’t zoom through a range of focal lengths but rather are limited to a single focal length (e.g. 35mm, 50mm, or 85mm etc etc). Their zoom comes in the form of your own two feet 😉 Prime lenses generally have better image quality than zoom lenses, though you can find excellent zooms as well. Primes are also often available at wider aperture than zoom lenses.