Looking for Advice

Forums Forums Farktography General Chat The Gallery Looking for Advice

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    kc9fsh
    Participant

I’m fairly new to the world of shooting with a DSLR so I’d appreciate it if some of you could give me your opinions on the following shots along with what you think I could have changed to possibly make the photos turn out better.

Thanks for any input!

caradoc
    Participant

What do you feel is “wrong” or could be “improved” for these images?

jpatten
    Participant

They look great to me, though in the second image it looks like the lens could use a little cleaning maybe, otherwise they look great. especially the first one

soosh
    Participant

You’re dealing with some pretty difficult lighting situations. What sort of lens are you using? What’s your f-stop, ISO, and exposure time in those shots? Do you have a filter on the lens? Are you using a lens hood?

kc9fsh
    Participant

What do you feel is “wrong” or could be “improved” for these images?

I like the images however other people have told me that they don’t think they are good pictures. When I would ask them why they couldn’t come up with anything. I basically wanted other opinions on them.

You’re dealing with some pretty difficult lighting situations. What sort of lens are you using? What’s your f-stop, ISO, and exposure time in those shots? Do you have a filter on the lens? Are you using a lens hood?

Here are the settings.

First shot:
    ExposureTime : 34.00Sec
    FNumber : F6.3
    ISOSpeedRatings : 100

Second shot:
    ExposureTime : 30.00Sec
    FNumber : F10.0

Third shot:
    ExposureTime : 31.00Sec
    FNumber : F8.0

Fourth shot:
    ExposureTime : 20.00Sec
    FNumber : F13.0

Right now I’m just using the lens that came with my Rebel XT, it is a 18-55mm lens and I am not using a lens hood. I am using a UV filter, but that is mainly just to protect the lens.