Macro Lens

Forums Forums Get Technical Hardware Macro Lens

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Participant

Hello all –

I’m just starting to get into taking more photos and trying to get a bit better. I’ve got a Canon S1-IS (not very fancy, I know, but nice enough for a light user/beginner), and I want to get a macro lens for it. I have no idea where/how to start looking for one. I don’t need something ultra great since I’m just beginning, but I want something that is good (not going to fall apart, something that takes good pictures, etc.). Anyone have suggestions on how to go about this?

Thanks for any replies. You all continue to amaze and hopefully one day I’ll be taking pictures as awesome as yours!

I have an S1 IS, but I use a different camera as my primary now. What I did to enable macro shots was buy the Canon LAH-DC10 52mm lens adapter and some Hoya macro lenses. Probably $50 in total.

The lens adapter is very very useful. I use it with a standard polarizer a lot.

You might want to consider a tabletop tripod if you plan to do a lot of still macro shots.

Example results with the S1 and a macro lens:
    http://www.pbase.com/image/32433373/large.jpg
    http://www.pbase.com/image/32119511/large.jpg

Anonymous
    Participant

Thanks, man. That looks like exactly what I want at this point. I did just buy this cool little table top tri-pod deal with 3 little bendy legs, so that should work. Any preferences on the Hoya lenses? I’ve never been in the market for anything like this. Are they just called “Macro Lenses”?

/n00b

There are several makers of inexpensive add-on lenses. They’re sometimes called macro lenses or close-up lenses.

Here’s the same kit I have… http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&sku=88779&is=REG&addedTroughType=categoryNavigation

Anonymous
    Participant

Awesome. I’m excited to see that this isn’t going to be super expensive. Thanks for your help!

veruca