N00bie photographer

Forums Forums Get Technical Tips & Tricks N00bie photographer

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    boogerwolf
    Participant

Hello All.
    I am a budding photographer and wanted some advice/guidance/info.

I’ve been a fan of Farktography (read: lurkker) for some time and have an intrest in photography for a while now. I just recieved a Nikon D50 with a kit lens (18-55) for my birthday. I have an old Canon T-50 and an Olympus IS-10DX that I was using. I plan on taking some classes at the local college here sometime next month.

Couple of questions:

1) I had some prints developed at Walmart (via their on-line service) to underwhelming results (color off, grainy). I then printed the same prints on my Canon printer with much better results. Any of you Atlanta Farkers out there know of any good developers on the southside of town?

2)Being new to this I’d of course like to learn how to use my camera manually. I’ve found a few resources and like I said I plan on taking some classes at Clayton State but are there any books or websites that will explain focal length, F-stops, etc. concisely?

Thanks for any info you guys can slide my way.

staplermofo
    Participant

Wikipedia does a pretty good job of explaining focal length, f-stops, etc concisely. They even have pictures.

boogerwolf
    Participant

Wikipedia does a pretty good job of explaining focal length, f-stops, etc concisely. They even have pictures.

You know as silly as this sounds I would have not thought to Wiki all of that. Thanks.

orionid
    Participant

I’ll spare you of my delving into the explanations in detail, lest I put you to sleep with mathematics and hardcore science. But, I will say that the D50’s a great camera for using manually and given time, you can really make it sing. I know SilverStag used one for a while, and I just [tragically] lost mine a little over a week ago.

Here’s a few quickies though (I make no promise on spelling):