shooting indoor sports ie. basketball

Forums Forums Get Technical Tips & Tricks shooting indoor sports ie. basketball

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Participant

I have a Canon digital rebel xt and have been shooting lots of outdoor pics with moderate sucess and have enjoyed quite a bit. Now that winter is here I find myself wanting to take indoor pics of my kids playing basketball. My problem is lighting and set up for shooting inside. Im using the EFS 18-55 lens that came with the camera. with the pop up flash. all the pics are either a dingy yellow or if the light is good its very blurry (assume this is the apiture staying open on an action shot.) I’ve been to the digital rebel tutorial site looking for tips but most seem to be based on outdoor photography or portraits. Any tips or ideas would be greatly appreciated.. As you can probably tell I am a newbie to serious photography but I really do enjoy it.

Thanks

I don’t personally have much experience with indoor sport photography, but a co-worker does lots of it. He has a ridiculou$ amount of ca$h tied up in his equipment, but he gets great results. The lenses he uses are like something off a spy satellite.

Examples at http://www.pbase.com/nikonsean

HTH

sleeping
    Participant

Your built in flash probably isn’t powerful enough to do you any good unless you can get very close (10-15′). If you’re going to use flash you’ll need a more powerful external one.

Absent that, try turning the ISO setting up (as high as it will go if the results at that speed are acceptible) and use shutter priority with a speed high enough to stop the action – at least 1/200 or so.

A faster lens would definitely help too. I think Canon makes a cheap 50mm 1.8 prime. If you’re using an 18-55 right now and don’t feel you need something longer that might work.

Adam

logomancer
    Participant