Tonemapping ethics in Farktography

Forums Forums Get Technical Software Tonemapping ethics in Farktography

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    orionid
    Participant

So, first off, this isn’t my original idea. Killerclaw first brought it up here: http://www.farktography.net/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=1466 And Chupathingie posted a link to an example he did here: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2003979&id=1571595696&l=ba1792e6a9. But, here’s the latest quandary.

In the HDR theme, one of my shots was a psuedo-HDR made by tonemapping a single RAW image. So that got my curiosity up, and I started playing with various methods of software-enhancing photos using only global enahncements. Examples are here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/orionid/4529507995/ and here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/orionid/4530139036/.

If you read the discussion between Elsinore and I on the first one, you’ll see the foundation of this.

Basically, I’d like to see some debate (even if there’s no immediate resolution) on the use of mild tonemapping as an acceptable global enhancement. I could honestly argue both for, or against, in good consience.

Point: It’s too close to HDR, it’s too software-heavy
    Counter-point: it’s still a single image/exposure and mild treatment really isn’t much different in concept than usage of curves/saturation/etc. Also, a well-executed mild treatment wouldn’t even really be noticed.

Point: wild cases look too garish and unnatural, and it would be too hard to police/enforce.
    Counter-point: The same can be said for contrast and saturation.

My personal gut instict is that mild usgae should be okay, but I’m really afraid of starting a slippery slope of pushing the boundaries of the tonemapping into a point where every contest looks like an HDR theme. So do we draw a line? If so, where? Do we outright allow tonemapping? Do we outright ban it? Opinions please.