Two Questions

Forums Forums Get Technical Tips & Tricks Two Questions

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    clouddancer
    Participant

First, what settings do I use for a pinhole digital? Without a lens, I can’t change the f/stop, nor can I focus, but I can adjust (it seems) everything else. I assume that putting just the pinhole in front of it helps with forming a pictures because otherwise I’m just getting solid color, fuzzy images.

Second, how do I take good pictures of fireworks? This is my first year to go to fireworks with a DSLR (not a P&S with a fireworks setting), and I got my tripod last year, so I’m good with that. Am I going to want to use the 75-300 lens or the 18-55? I’m really looking forward to the no processing time with these pictures as the camera takes them, so how long should the exposure be, f/stop and ISO suggestions? The collective here has taken some REALLY good fireworks pictures, so I’m looking for some general settings to get started with and adjust as I go based on what I see.

Thanks!

ravnostic
    Participant

To the first, a pinhole is like a super small f/stop, so depth of field is maximized; focus isn’t really necessary, vignetting often can occur (part of the allure, really), and use a tripod, because you’ll need long exposures even in full sun (and for dark scenes, plan on a minute, if not several minutes.)

To the 2nd, pm your email; my aunt sent me a spiffy pdf file with tips on taking pictures of fireworks (though ironically, the resolution of the photos in the file sucks–but the tips are valid.)

CauseISaidSo
    Participant

For fireworks:

• You’ve got your camera and tripod, but you’ll also need a remote shutter release cable. You’ll be taking lots of long-exposure shots so you don’t want to touch the camera during exposure.