Camera upgrade – Canon style

Forums Forums Get Technical Farktography tech talk Camera upgrade – Canon style

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    U-Man
    Participant

I’m presently using a Canon 20D and I’m happy with it. Of my four lenses (17-85, 70-300, 100 macro and 50) only the 17-85 is an EF-S.

I’m an amateur who is gaining experience and knowledge. I’m interested in learning more about photography in general, but life is busy and I’d rather take photos with my ‘camera time’ than learn more about how to use it.

I’m pretty comfortable with the ol’ 20D but I’ve got an itch for something new and better. I’ve been eyeballing the 5D and 40D. I don’t know if the Mark III is right for me. It may be like putting grandma behind the wheel of a Ferrari.

If you were me, what would you do if cost wasn’t an issue? How about if cost was moderately important? I was getting geared up to buy a 5D and the guy at the camera store thought that the 40D was an overall better camera. dpreview compares the 5D to the 20D and the 40D to the 30D but it doesn’t compare the 5D to the 40D.

Is the 5D replacement coming out soon? Will it be everything the 40D is plus full frame 16 megapix?

Should I just say screw it and get a Mark III 1Ds?

Desicions, decisions. I’m going to go outside and take some pics.

Analogy
    Participant

Lenses and lighting will make a far greater difference to your photography than a new body will. Take what you’d spend on a 5D and buy some L glass and a couple strobes. Unless you’re making money at this, you don’t need anything fancier than your 20D.

schnee
    Participant

If cost weren’t an issue, the Mark III 1Ds is the way to go. Just stay away from staplermofo.

Unknown about the ‘5D mark II’.

At this point, unless you have a very specific need for a new body (e.g. big print size) or you just really want to get a new body, I echo what Analogy said. Get some L lenses and move your light off-camera.

staplermofo
    Participant