Combat Photographer

Forums Forums News Articles and Info Combat Photographer

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    fluffybunny
    Participant

http://www.pbs.org/newshour/bb/media/jan-june12/warphotog_03-06.html

A small News Hour profile of a modern war photographer and her commitment to peers and craft.

ennuipoet
    Participant

http://www.pbs.org/newshour/bb/media/jan-june12/warphotog_03-06.html

A small News Hour profile of a modern war photographer and her commitment to peers and craft.

Thanks for this, it hit me harder than I thought anything military related was capable of. For two reasons:

The obvious one, I’m a Veteran and an Air Force Vet at that.

Second, this was supposed to be my life. When I went in the Air Force, I had a job as a combat photographer. It was my raison d’etre in the Air Force. In my 5th week (out of six) of Basic, the admin people came to me and said “They are realigning the tech school, and aren’t taking any more classes. You can either get out because we violated your contract or pick another job”. I was done with the hard part of Basic, had this been week two, I probably would’ve jumped at the chance to get out. So, I listed out six jobs I thought I would like, and that was the end of that.

I often wonder how my life would be if I went the AF a month or two sooner. Would I still be there, though I would be pretty old for combat missions. Would I have seen real combat? Would I have gotten out and gone into photojournalism, that was my plan. Chances are I would be out of a job today if I had.

Still, I look at SSgt Pearsall and see a little glimpse of the life I almost had. And I am jealous. When I was young, I would’ve been the kind of idiot that ran toward the shooting, so I am damn sure I would injured…maybe dead…and I am still jealous.

Still, well done SSgt, well done, particularly your work with and for other Vets.

Yugoboy
    Participant

Interesting story ennuipoet… we REALLY have to meet sometime…