HDR and Double/multiple exposure rules discussion

Forums Forums Farktography General Chat Farktography Pub and Grill HDR and Double/multiple exposure rules discussion

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    SilverStag
    Participant

I’ve opened this thread to continue and make more inclusive a discussion happening in the “In and Out” discussion thread concerning rules for HDR and Double exposures. Feel free to expound your theories and such here.

redwoodcruzr
    Participant

I had a similar thought to orionid, but using a different subject.

I vote yes for allowing post processing double exposure for those contests where HDR is allowed. The line between processing for a double exposure versus processing for dynamic range seems pretty gray to me.

orionid
    Participant

I recognize the fact that I’m still a farktography newb, but based on the initial reaction to my question, I think the rules as they stand should stay for this contest, but possibly revise them prior to future HDR allowed contests. I honestly don’t know enough about HDR to have a valid opinion either way, but whatever the group concensus is, I’ll support it. The only thing that I can see is by post processing a double exposure, you’d have a much finer control of layers transparency than you would have with in camera double exposures.

SilverStag
    Participant

Psst, orionid:

The “I am become Death” quote comes from Vishnu in the Hindu Bhagavad-Gita. Oppenheimer was quoting it.

The Alan Shepard quote in your sig is from the Mercury program. Shepard didn’t fly in Gemini.

Elsinore
    Keymaster