I got bored today. PREPARE FOR SCIENCE!

Forums Forums Farktography General Chat Farktography Pub and Grill I got bored today. PREPARE FOR SCIENCE!

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Plamadude30k
    Participant

Having finished all the work my advisor set for me, and still waiting for him to send me more, I started playing around with my camera in my office today (I bring it every day, just in case, ya know?). I noticed that every once-in-a-while, I’d get a really weird looking image, like so:

And with various other states of weird orange banding.
    However, at other times it would look perfectly normal:

In fact, I had noticed this effect two weeks ago when I had been testing my newest lens, the 50mm f/1.8. I put it down to the lens needing a hood (which it badly does), or possibly some weird white balance problem, but when I tested it out with my macro lens (which at macro focus has a speed around f/4-5ish), the effect seemed not to reappear. I ended up putting it down to the new lens and being pretty dissatisfied.

Now back to when I saw the effect today, I was using a different lens (18-105mm f/3.5-5.6), and I just happened to have the hood on. I also happened to be shooting in the D7000’s CH mode, which takes photos at approximately 6fps (the word *approximately* is important here). I found it especially interesting that the pattern had returned and seemed to *change* between photos. I set up to measure this like so: