My 0.02$, or why I like Farktography

Forums Forums Farktography General Chat Farktography Pub and Grill My 0.02$, or why I like Farktography

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    fluffybunny
    Participant

There is some discussion in the “Can’t fight city hall” theme thread about how things work. Since I’m new here I’m not sure it’s for me to offer input into that subject, but it got me to reviewing my thoughts on why I’m here.

Why I like Farktography:

– The fact that it exists in the first place
    – The fact that there is a population of voters interested enough to participate
    – Tolerance of noobs
    – Mostly unstructured
    – Members who are vastly more talented than myself from whom I can learn to improve my craft
    – The contest is more about your own growth than a reward

As a photographer, I languished for many years taking snapshots at gatherings or outings. Like many, I let my interest take a back seat.

This is an environment that helps me “get over the hump” so to speak, that little nudge I need to Get Out There.

Thank you to everyone here.

Yoyo
    Participant

I like Farktography because it forces me to reexamine my photos.

I dislike Farktography because I don’t have time to go out and shoot photos specifically for it. Er, maybe that should be I dislike my job because it doesn’t afford me the time to go out and take photos, and Farktography reminds me of this.

Edit: Perhaps I should have used “permission” instead of “time” above. I manage my work well enough that I can find the time for almost anything.

fluffybunny
    Participant

I like Farktography because it forces me to reexamine my photos.

I dislike Farktography because I don’t have time to go out and shoot photos specifically for it. Er, maybe that should be I dislike my job because it doesn’t afford me the time to go out and take photos, and Farktography reminds me of this.