Need Advice (the sooner the better!)

Forums Forums Get Technical Hardware Need Advice (the sooner the better!)

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 29 total)
  • Author
    Madrigal
    Participant

Hey everyone,

I was lurking around the site of a Canadian Photo shop I have heard good things about (even though it’s across the country).

I am really interested lately in the Olympus Evolt 500 (Mainly because of the two lens kit, features and price).

I am a student, so I was going by the “cheaper the better” rule, in this case just finding the best price on the camera. On this site they have sale on, so the kit with the two lenses (14-45, 40-150) is $869cdn. This is still a bit out of my price range, however I just noticed (For the first time) that they had a kit on the site, limited quantities mind you, of the E-500 with one (1) 17-45 lens, but this is priced at $599cdn, which is MUCH more affordable.

Beyond the appeal of the zoom of the other one, and the good pricing for a two lens kit, am I really losing much by just using the 17-45? I will no doubt buy lenses in the future, but right now I just want to get the SLR and get used to it, and just start doing more.

I am really tempted only because of the pricepoint and because it is such a nice camera, any opinions on this lens and whether or not, for me, it will make a huge difference?

Thanks!

OH, I forgot to mention, this includes a 1gb XD card (I’d prefer CF, but for free…)

staplermofo
    Participant

It all depends on what you’re planning on taking pictures of, doesn’t it?

The 40-150mm lens is going for around $300 Cdn ($200 refurbed), so you wouldn’t be saving much buying them together anyway.