not really a gripe

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Phragmites
    Participant

right, first things first. this isn’t a gripe, but more of a friendly grumble. im in the UK and since the farktography contests all start at 8pm EST, midnight my time, i dont have the opportunity to post my entries until about 7pm GMT thursday, which is the very tail end of the competition. dont suppose theres any chance of altering the time or maybe making a separate euro competition?

in the end, im not really interested in ‘winning first place’, but just getting some people to check out my photos and give me some constructive feedback. getting good exposure, if you dont mind the terrible pun. ive only picked up a camera again in the last few months after many years not taking photos. im still fairly new to the digital darkroom – i used to take mostly slides, and therefore was used to getting what i saw – so really want feedback and new ideas. i do have a deviantart account (phragmites.deviantart.com) but its difficult to get noticed. of course its easy for my friends and family to say ‘oh youre really good’ but hell, they’d say that no matter what.

ok, just realised this has turned into a ramble. comments welcome.

– P

Curious
    Participant

the 8 EST time is for “total fark” members and the time the contest goes “live” or to the main page is set by a fark admin. it varies from week to week but would mostly be when you are sleeping or at work. so far as i know there are no plans for a european timed contest.