Photography Copyright – Employee/Employer

Forums Forums Farktography General Chat Farktography Pub and Grill Photography Copyright – Employee/Employer

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    choo
    Participant

Hello there, fellow Farktographers!

I don’t see a specific forum for this nor do I want to go into much detail, but I’m having some labor relation problems with my current employer and that’s entirely besides the point.

I work as a drafter at my company. Since I’m a hobbyist farktographer, I’ve been taking pictures of all the stuff we design and manufacture, with permission from the powers that be. Recently, I was chewed out and threatened for not “taking enough photos” of the last system we built and as per that conversation, I am all of a sudden charged with and responsible for taking photographs at the company that rise to the president’s level of “perfection.”

I’ve never signed any authorization for giving the rights to my photos away, and the company has used them for advertising and publishing without even blinking twice about compensating me for this work. This was not in my job description, all the photos were taken with my equipment by myself and for my own purposes(to make my job easier.) I was more or less being kind enough to let them use my photos for whatever their purposes may be. After that last conversation, I feel my goodwill has run out.

I’m curious if I still have the rights to my photos, as in can I seek unauthorized use and possible restitution?

Thanks for reading and I like hearing from GED lawyers! 🙂

CauseISaidSo
    Participant