Shooting portraits outdoors

Forums Forums Farktography General Chat Farktography Pub and Grill Shooting portraits outdoors

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Jakevol2
    Participant

Ok, my girlfriend wants me to take some pictures of her. We are going to do the session outdoors at a farmers market. I am new to shooting portraits and doing it in color. (I prefer shooting in B&W). I want to make the colors really pop. I will be using a a Canon Powershot A560. Any suggestions for which settings I should use outdoors using natural light and getting the best color?

I want these pics to be special because I am taking the best one and blowing it up to 16″x20″ and having it mounted for her birthday present.

Klahanie
    Participant

I don’t take many portraits, but I do know that you want to keep faces out of the sun and use a fill flash if necessary. Just have fun, you’ll get better pics if she is at ease and not pressured to pose. 🙂

Jakevol2
    Participant

I don’t take many portraits, but I do know that you want to keep faces out of the sun and use a fill flash if necessary. Just have fun, you’ll get better pics if she is at ease and not pressured to pose. 🙂

We will be shooting in the morning on I hope will be a sunny day. So what you are saying is keep the sun to her back or side? Also as I said I am a n00b so I don’t know what a fill flash is, is that the flash on my camera or do I need another external light source?

BTW the pressure is all on me!

Analogy
    Participant

99% of photography is lighting it properly (trivia: Photography literally means “drawing with light”). The trick to shooting in sunlight is dealing with that harshly bright and direct sun, since shadows are too dark for the camera to capture detail in if you’re exposing for the sun.