Shopping for a digital

Forums Forums Get Technical Hardware Shopping for a digital

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 34 total)
  • Author
    Shahanna
    Participant

I’m sure you are all sick of these kind of questions, but where else should I turn but to fark?

Basically I’m looking to buy a new digital camera, but don’t know much about them. Until now I’ve been using a 3.1 Vivitar (ViviCam3746) that I am about to drop kick off my balcony. The limited size and quality (its set on the best settings I’ve got, and that’s plain not enough), slow response time, and maximum of 3x optical zoom is driving me insane.

I’m not looking to sink a significant sum into this enterprise (I’m a teacher, not an option), so I’m looking at a max of around $600, though I’ll stretch that for a good cause. I’d like to have higher resolution (print quality would be nice) and a better response time minimum. Optical zoom is a must, but not so much that I start sacrificing portability. I am, at best, a middling amateur when it comes to photography, so I don’t really need high end equipment.

I’ll answer any questions as best I can, and I apologize for the essay, but I’d rather err on the side of too MUCH information rather than too little. Thanks already for your time if you’ve managed to make it this far!

linguine
    Participant

Are you looking for a dslr or something thats just a point and shoot camera?

Shahanna
    Participant

I want to say dslr, but since most of what I use the camera for is point and shoot it really wouldn’t be worth it, little as I’d use its full capability.

SilverStag
    Participant

Consider a Nikon D40 – it’s an *amazing* camera for the money, with room to grow.

Shahanna
    Participant

Heh, thanks for the link… that seems to be a very reasonable option. I’ve played around with a D70 before and liked it, but couldn’t remember the make until you mentioned this one. This seems like it would be the better option though.

millera9
    Participant