Stats web pages

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    fluffybunny
    Participant

Hey ya’ll, sorry for the noob question but what is the difference between Bibliostats and FSM (not the deity, the other one)?

CauseISaidSo
    Participant

They’re basically the same thing in different stages of life, fluffy. schnee created FSM about 5 years ago I think and it was running great until the last Fark page redesign when it broke. schnee now understandably has other priorities that demand his attention so FSM is now more of a historic reference, at least for the time being.

FSM was one of the things that drew me to Farktography and made it fun for me. Being a programmer myself, I liked the challenge of “rolling my own” version of it and also wanted to play with some of the data myself, so I wrote a scraper that watches the contests and gathers various statistics. Later, I created Bibliostats to publish some of the results of that. Bibliostats is in its infancy in that there are a lot of reports and charts and other features that I’ve got planned for it, but my work schedule has been quite demanding this year, so I haven’t had as much time as I’d like.

As far as more technical differences, I’d refer you to the Bibliostats FAQ thread, or if there’s anything in particular you’d like to know, I’d be happy to answer.

fluffybunny
    Participant

No further questions Your Honor. I appreciate your work on it, like you said, it makes Farktography a better and more attractive place.

What language do you work with? I have some experience in C and Python, and a smattering of others. What’s your favorite platform(s)?

CauseISaidSo
    Participant

Thanks, I’m glad you like it. I actually did it mostly just for myself, but knowing that others enjoy it is a really nice bonus.