TLR – it’s new to me

Forums Forums Get Technical Farktography tech talk TLR – it’s new to me

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 33 total)
  • Author
    XenPix
    Participant

I have a lovely Yashicamat twin lens reflex that I accidentally acquired when my dear old dad left the family home some years ago. It was nothing to do with me having hidden it before he left. Honest.

Anyhoo.

I finally got around to getting some film for it. I’ve checked to make sure it is clean and operating correctly.

Now, what the heck do I do? Apart from take pictures. It’s my first time with a TLR and I’m just wondering if there is something they are particularly good at, anything I should avoid, that kind of thing.

Otherwise I’ll just go my usual snap-happy way.

Thanks!

Elsinore
    Keymaster

Oh man…I’ve been wanting a TLR for awhile now (especially a Yashica). I had an uncle who had one, but alas, my aunt gave his camera gear away long ago 🙁 I’m no expert, but I know medium format is great for portraits, and the huge negatives make huge enlargements.

monkeybort
    Participant

i’ve got an antique rollie (i think) sitting on my shelf but i’ve never tried to do anything with it – i keep meaning to futz around with it but never get around to it.

XenPix
    Participant

i’ve got an antique rollie (i think) sitting on my shelf but i’ve never tried to do anything with it – i keep meaning to futz around with it but never get around to it.

That was me until I got the film yesterday.

😉

Curious
    Participant

you want to have fun shot some chrome with it. few things more fun than handing your friends a 2 1/4 square slide to see.

a 4 x 5 is even more fun. folks freak.

keep in mind that your composition will be different and it takes a bit to get used to. but that’s part of the fun.

sleeping
    Participant