Collaborative photo gallery hosts

Forums Forums Farktography General Chat Farktography Pub and Grill Collaborative photo gallery hosts

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    fluffybunny
    Participant

I’d like to ask for y’alls advice.

I will be involved in organizing a photo walk soon. I’d like to find an easy way for the people who attend to share their work. There is no pre-existing photo related community to leverage (although it may develop as time goes on), nor is there a current digital infrastructure to build on easily. I expect the participants to come from a wide range of experience, from total noob to pro level. Some will have little experience in the digital realm (aka internet, social media, and so on), some will have flickr or google+ accounts already.

So given the unknown future of the event and the undefined experience of the participants, you can see my dilemma.

I found http://dropevent.com/ which seems like a good fit. Does anybody have experience with them or some alternative?

Yugoboy
    Participant

I was going to suggest starting a blogspot blog and opening it up to participants to contribute to. I know you’d have to play with the permissions and stuff, but it’s another option.

The thing you found looks like it is probably easier to set up for your purposes.

fluffybunny
    Participant

Yeah, I want to keep this thing “least common denominator” until I know where it’s going.

ravnostic
    Participant

I have to say, G+ is built for this. Most of us create a community forum to share photos within. But it may be too much for the newbs to handle.

fluffybunny
    Participant

I have to say, G+ is built for this. Most of us create a community forum to share photos within. But it may be too much for the newbs to handle.

It might be a place to “wind up” if this thing takes off.