New guy, just saying hello…

Forums Forums Farktography General Chat Farktography Pub and Grill New guy, just saying hello…

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Lenny_da_Hog
    Participant

Howdy, folks.

I’m new to photography as a hobby — just started taking pics regularly a couple of months ago while tracking a bird conservation project, and found I was starting to enjoy the camera more than the birds.

Anyway, just wanted to say thanks, and that I appreciate the contests, as they’re giving me something to focus on while I improve and learn, and giving me lots of folks to learn from (some of you folks do amazing stuff).

I’ll be out in the desert for a couple of weeks, but will be back regularly come September.

ravnostic
    Participant

Welcome to the group! Feel free to use the forums to ask questions; if you like an image and want to know the details of how it was taken for example, or ‘how do I stuff’; someone (if not several) will always jump in to help you continue becoming a better and better photographer. The people here have taught me 90% of what I know and they’re a great bunch of folks besides.

Barracuda
    Participant

Welcome, always good to have fresh names around. It’s amazing how fast one can improve while trying to compete each week in Farktography, I can attest to it! Got my XSi in February, started Farktography on a regular basis a month or two later, and everyone I know continually tells me how much I’ve improved in that time.

Lenny_da_Hog
    Participant

And Barracuda, you’re one of the names I recognize already. Enouraging.

I use an XTi I bought a few years ago for industrial photography (e.g., take one shot of a motor control center, valve assembly, or the like for training programs, etc.), but mostly sat in the closet.

chupathingie
    Participant