Paid photography

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Farktographer
    Participant

So today I was on the beach (side note: how many of you just got jealous?) taking photos of my brother-in-law and his girlfriend. I was testing how my new flash works as a front-light with the contending sunset in the background, and while showing them the rough images on my camera, they said I should look into photographing portraits for other people, or even weddings. Some random guy happened to be walking by at that moment, overheard us, turned to me, and asked if I was looking for work as a photographer. Turns out he’s interested in finding someone to take photos of his children, and doesn’t want to have to deal with craigslist.

I admitted to him that the only portraits I’ve really done have been of my niece, and I’m not really experienced, but I’d be willing to give it a try. I gave him my e-mail and name, and now I’m just waiting for him to get back to me. It makes me wonder though – if we do end up having a photo shoot, what am I expected to do? I’m sure some of you farktographers have done something similar in the past.

I’m sure I’ll probably have to come up with the location and time (for lighting and whatnot), and I should provide him with a CD of the finished jpeg’s when it’s all complete. Is there anything else I should do though? Should I bring props for the kids to play with? How much should I be charging? Given I’ll probably only get a handful of useful photos out of it, I’m not thinking I can charge anything near what people do when they actually do photography for a living. Anyone with some experience in this would be really helpful 😀

/I’m pretty sure this has been discussed in the forums before, but I gave up after a few pages of searching 🙄

olavf
    Participant