Standard Editing Software

Forums Forums Get Technical Software Standard Editing Software

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    bender16v
    Participant

What software do you use? I have been using Gimp for quite a while for Photoshop contests so when I started photography this summer I just kept using that. I don’t know that it is the best tool out there though and instead of downloading thousands of programs I thought I would see what other people are using. I do have UFRaw as well, but any time it adjusts exposure it really adds a lot of noise so I don’t use it much.

I have stayed away from all Adobe products possible since I feel that their prices are ridiculous for private use. Also are there products that do a better job at different tasks?

I know as a beginning photographer I should really try to learn to get the best possible images directly from my camera, but at the same time I still need to touch things up sometimes. Thanks in advance.

linguine
    Participant

I use gimp and ufraw. I run linux so I don’t have the photoshop/lightroom option. I keep meaning to give bibble labs a try sometime, but I’ve gotten quite good at putting that off.

CauseISaidSo
    Participant

I use Canon’s Digital Photo Professional to tweak my RAW images and export to JPG. Sometimes (rarely) the resulting JPG is still too large even at the lowest quality setting and in that case, I export to TIFF and then use Paint.NET to save to JPG.

ennuipoet
    Participant

Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 3 is usually enough for me, though I have a slew of presets that I use. I also have Photoshop CS2 for heavy duty editing, but I rarely use if for Photography. LR is expensive, but worth the money….or, there are ways that one might use LR if they don’t mind some moral ambiguity.

Kestrana
    Participant