YOU’RE DOING IT WRONG!!!

Forums Forums Farktography General Chat Farktography Pub and Grill YOU’RE DOING IT WRONG!!!

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    ennuipoet
    Participant

FTA: I am a professional commercial photographer. I have been for the last 25 years. Throughout most of my career, I’ve had a hard time taking personal pictures — and for years I thought that shooting film was to blame. I’ve always found shooting film nerve-wracking. The joy of the “latent image” isn’t quite so joyous when you’re wondering if the shots are actually going to come out.

http://www.theverge.com/2013/6/20/4377290/post-process-why-the-smartphone-camera-changed-photography-forever

If you are a commercial photographer and you can’t compose and expose properly out of a studio, on film, then the problem isn’t the film: It’s you.

Also wik: How is a phone with a microscopic sensor and minuscule lens superior to a point and shoot digital (since film frightens you so)?

staplermofo
    Participant

If you are a commercial photographer and you can’t compose and expose properly out of a studio, on film, then the problem isn’t the film: It’s you.

Also wik: How is a phone with a microscopic sensor and minuscule lens superior to a point and shoot digital (since film frightens you so)?

Clearly someone doesn’t have a crippling anxiety disorder.
    The guy is clearly a competent photographer, it’s too competitive to last 25 years without skill to back it up. All the world’s xanax couldn’t calm me down if I sent off undeveloped rolls of film that my job depended on, and would next see them in a magazine. That’s understandable in my book.

And he explains how the phone camera is superior, in great detail, with the Leica comparison. Which is really funny, when you think about it, since they both use the popular video resolution (35mm then, 2mp now). Maybe in 100 years Apple will be the one making preposterously expensive fetish cameras.

ennuipoet
    Participant